24 weeks-ish

So I haven’t posted in quite some time. I haven’t really had much to report. After I got past the difficult part of getting pregnant, things have been pretty easy. I am so grateful for that. My husband still worries all the time. He says he never wants to do this again. I told him he might need to get over that idea. My mom came to visit a few weeks ago. It was really nice. She said she was going to come stay in September but the company she works for just went bankrupt and laid everyone off, so now I don’t know if she will be able to. It would be disappointing but completely understandable. I know she will still come down but maybe not for as long as she wanted. Luckily my MIL is close and I know she will be more than happy to help. She already has all sorts of plans for this baby.

My next appointment isn’t until the end of this month. My OB said she wants to start doing scans each time. She said everything is right on target, she just wants to be able to chart progress more accurately since IVF makes you high risk for things like growth restriction and preterm birth. I am happy to get to see this little guy more often. Ultrasounds are pretty reassuring. At my anatomy scan, I had a partial previa so the Maternal Fetal Medicine doctor wants me to come back at the end of June so he can check that out. I made that appointment with the same doctor who did all the 3d scans. He said it was just the very edge of the placenta and wasn’t too worried. He said 90% of the time the expansion of the uterus moves the placenta out of the way. My belly has been a little achy, more round ligament pains. I started prenatal yoga and that really helps my back feel nice and loose.

I have my gestational diabetes test next appointment. It is just the one hour test. I don’t know why but I am being a bit of a baby about the whole thing. It isn’t that much liquid, I can start before I go in so I don’t have to wait and really at this point, I have had my blood drawn so many times it doesn’t phase me anymore. Maybe it is because it is the next hurdle to get over. There is no reason to suspect I have it. My weight gain is right on target, my mom didn’t have it, I am young and I started out with a normal BMI. I haven’t had any swelling yet, knock on wood, and my bp has been really good. I am on the low end of normal so I take it pretty slowly when I get up to pee in the middle of the night. I have had a couple of days, here and there, when I have been a bit under the weather. Then I find that the next day, I feel better but am really tired.

I spent last Sunday making a bunch of baby stuff. I ended up with way too much fabric left over from the baby quilt I made so I figured I would put it to good use. It is all soft flannel and fleece. I made a bunch of burping clothes, a couple of smaller blankets for the car seat and a car seat cover. It sounds like a lot of work but really it was just sewing a bunch of rectangles together. Cutting things out takes the most time. It was fun to make all that stuff.

I inadvertently started trouble on Facebook today. A friend has seen a coyote or coyotes the past three days at her house. She is Wiccan and wanted to know the meaning of this. I mentioned she should be careful with her 5lb dog. I was then informed by someone else that this was a totem or spirit animal. Believe whatever you like but I am pretty sure that spirit animal or not, a coyote will happily run off with your 5lb poochie. Obviously, I didn’t say that because I really don’t need to start a debate over dogma with someone I don’t know. Especially on Facebook.

4 thoughts on “24 weeks-ish

  1. I’m thrilled that your pregnancy has been “easy” so far – I think a boring pregnancy is the dream pregnancy! I think it’s great that your OB is keeping a close eye on you and I hope that your pregnancy continues to be uneventful. 🙂

    Like

  2. Try not to stress about the GD test-there really is no way to control it. I was convinced I’d have it because of being pudgy and eating too much sugar, but it’s all tied to your placenta-not your weight or anything else. so if you have it, you have it and there’s nothing you can do about it! I know that sounds grim, but when I found that out it was sort of freeing. LIke, what’s the point in worrying-there’s no changing the outcome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

